Skip to content

Human Sexuality

February 24, 2011

So…I’m taking Human Sexuality and I’ve gotten A’s on both tests so far. However, a bunch of people failed. 15% of the class got D’s and F’s. The grand majority got C’s, some people got B’s and just 4 people got A’s. Which got me thinking, the only reason I know so much about sex is because of BDSM. So much of BDSM is research to make sure you know what you’re doing. I mean, you don’t just buy the first paddle you see, right? You research and learn the different types of material, weights, sensations…you learn about the nerves and the danger zones you should avoid. I’ve read so many pages about how to perfectly torture your sub…I never realized how much BDSM has taught me.

And what’s more…so many of my classmates are so completely closed minded. Being on Fetlife has taught me to be, not just tolerant, but accepting of others kinks. I mean, so many of them define sex as the missionary position…but sex is so much more than that.

We were read a scenario that went something like this:

Sara meets a guy at a party and they talk for 2 hours and decide to go back to his place. They use a condom and decide to remain friends afterward, though neither wants a relationship.

Every single person said it was wrong. That 2 hours just isn’t enough to decide if you want to sleep with someone. They even went so far as to say that Sara was a slut…though nobody thought the guy did anything wrong.

I could not believe that after everything we’ve talked about in class they’d still say things like that. Everyone is so incredibly closed minded…they have such a narrow view of sex. It’s exasperating.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. tortue permalink
    February 24, 2011 11:03 am

    So freaking true. The world is completely closed minded. So happy we have sites like FL. We also need more folks like you. So smart and open minded at such a young age. Great blog by the way!!!!

  2. February 28, 2011 11:11 am

    The best part is that many close minded folks are kinky, they just refuse to see it that way. My favorite are couples I know that are into breath play but that are adamant that they are not kinky. Folks are petrified of facing the fact that life isn’t cut and dry.

  3. tortue permalink
    March 1, 2011 8:54 am

    So very true again. I second those comment. Kind of makes you laugh at those people.

Leave a Reply

