Skip to content

Quote of the day

June 9, 2011

I regret to say that we of the FBI are powerless to act in cases of oral-genital intimacy, unless it has in some way obstructed interstate commerce. –J. Edgar Hoover

Wow. Well, this isn’t the sort of quote I usually use. I tend to lean towards the quotes that allow me to ramble…but…come on. How could I not blog about this quote?

So, let’s get started in dissecting this quote. "I regret to say". Now, why would he regret to say this? Was it because all the agents wanted the case and he was about to let them down? And what case was this that led to this quote?

"Unless it has in some way obstructed interstate commerce". Now…let’s all pause for a moment and think. Under what circumstances would oral-genital intimacy obstruct interstate commerce? I mean, that must be some really good oral-genital intimacy is it can obstruct interstate commerce!

Going back to the quote as a whole, I’m glad to know that unless my oral-genital intimacy obstructs interstate commerce the FBI won’t investigate me.

I seriously can’t stop think about those circumstances. My mind is blown.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 1:03 pm

    I hope you know that you’ve stumbled across something of great power: actually listening and thinking about what is said. It is a rare activity unfortunately. In MD, our senior (very senior) Senator stated once that she supported a particular policy because “there were not enough people in MD that knew how to pick crabs”. In MD, picking crabs is almost a citizenship test! If people actually listened to what is said around them….well, MD would have a different Senator, for one. But in general, the world would be a much different, and I believe better, place.

Leave a Reply

