Skip to content

Place of peace

July 2, 2012

My Daddy is dealing with a lot of stuff right now. This past weekend we were supposed to go to Savannah (ok, he hadn’t decided on Savannah, but I was pretty confident I could sway him.) We never got to go because something came up and he couldn’t leave. It was really hard to know he wouldn’t be coming. It’s been 2 months since I’ve seen him. June was the second month he didn’t come visit.
I miss him so much. I’ve cried so much the past few days that I’ve started sleeping with a box of tissues on my bed.

As if it wasn’t enough that my Daddy can’t come visit, he also doesn’t have enough time to text or skype with me as often. I know he tries…I can tell he does…but I’m not getting enough Daddy time. Last night he made it clear that he was aware of this. That is what makes him incredible. The fact that he recognizes how difficult this is for me almost makes it all worth it.

Over the past few days I’ve felt the urge to throw tantrums…each time that happens I reread this:

 I will fill your life with wonder and sweetness. I will be your ray of sunshine, your place of peace, your safe haven. I promise to be your island of tranquility in a sea of chaos and uncertainty.

It means accepting the pain and the pleasure, in whatever form they may come.

I wrote that to my Daddy when I wrote to him what his collar would mean to me. This is the very moment I was referring to. Anyone can be an island of tranquility in calm waters.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 15, 2012 5:51 pm

    Yes indeed. I’ve had a number of people I have been able to lean on when things are tough, but it is rare the person who can call me on my bullshit without hurting me, or that can be my 7 year old niece when I’m in the middle of a psychotic episode. Those are the people in your life that really count. 🙂

Leave a Reply

