Skip to content

Grad school is hard, but Daddies are awesome

October 27, 2013

I’m about 2 months into my 2 year program and I am struggling. I don’t think I’ve ever struggled this much. After getting a C on a midterm I was just about ready to drop out. Luckily, my Daddy is always there to encourage me. He made sure I spoke to my professor about my grade and that made me feel so much better. I would have gotten a better grade had it not been for how specific she wanted her responses.
Still, I struggle. I didn’t realize just how hard it would be to keep a part-time job and go to grad school. I thought this would be just like undergrad but with slightly harder material. It’s not. I have about a thousand groups projects going on (which I hate), I have lesson plans to write, logs to fill out, articles to look up and read, goals to come up with, and profiles to complete. Some classes are better than others. The courses with teachers who remember what it’s like to struggle through grad school are a bit easier on me. It’s not easier because their work is less difficult, but I don’t feel the constant pressure in those classes. I feel like they understand and that makes a huge difference.
I know that this will all work out in the end. I know that this is what I’m meant to do…I just need it to be the end already!

My Daddy has been really great through all of this. He helps me keep things in perspective and not stress about the little things. He made a great suggestion to get my life organized a couple of weeks ago and that was a huge help! But most importantly, he tucks me in at night. It’s my cue to fall asleep and stop working. It helps me get close to a full night’s sleep unlike many of my classmates. It keeps me from burning out. I’m not sure what I’d do without my Daddy, but I know I wouldn’t be doing as well as I am.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

